Unfulfilled Desires!

Unfulfilled desires, oh,

why must you haunt me?

 

Descend on me at ghastly hours,

unprepared, I always seem.

 

Grabbing hold of consciousness,

and crashing all my dreams,

 

I wake from restless sleep,

tangled between the sheets.

 

Impatient fluffy sheep I count,

yet, never do they bleat…

 

My realizations are not profound;

all my hopes are blasphemy.

 

Unrequited enthusiasm—

has shattered my esteem.

 

Then in the distance I hear a sound:

the trill of a mockingbird in a tree.

 

Sweet, blithesome wish-fulfillment,

when will it ever come to be?

Leave a Reply

