Missing You

I will find you in the last
Lines of my favorite novels;
Cowering and minuscule between
Those monumental words

I will savor the chords of your
Name in the dusty rotations of
Ancient records that lasted longer
Than we ever could.

I will trace your footprints in the park
With my own, wonder the last time
These trees blessed your eyes
With their ancient wisdom

But all is distant, faded.
The warmth of you, your scent,
The precise chords of your laugh
And the shape of your back
They are gone.

even though
there are parts of you
That I will know even when
They stop being true,
I have lost you.
I am grasping at shadows.

One thought on “Missing You

Leave a Reply

