Give To Me Your Leather; Take From Me My Lace

One of the BEST love songs ever. The lyrics are sensitive and touching without being the least bit sappy. The two voices are perfect for the song, and the music is beautiful in its own right.

Anyway, the lyrics seem to deal mostly with the fragile nature of the two people’s personalities. The title Leather and Lace says it all. His love is like leather, thick and tough, masculine. Like men themselves (hard muscles, hard…….elsewhere). Her love is like lace, soft and delicate, feminine. Like women (soft skin, softer facial features and again, soft elsewhere).

“Give to me your leather
;take from me my lace”

Yet he shows quite a bit of sensitivity and lack of confidence (“Sometimes I’m a strong man, Sometimes cold and scared, And sometimes I cry”) but knows that her love can help him get by. Whereas she seems to be of very strong character, and says so herself (I have my own life, and I am stronger Than you know”). She seems to appreciate his sensitive and fragile nature.

They are in love and will be forever.

Lovers forever face to face
My city your mountains
Stay with me stay
I need you to love me
I need you today
Give to me your leather
Take from me my lace

Leave a Reply

