A poem I wrote for you

I name dropped the title
Of a book that google told me about
In a poem without even knowing
How it ended.

That book is at your place now.

I tried to read you, to learn you,
Before writing you into a poem,
But my magpie eyes couldn’t resist
The gleam of a new name

A blank page

I wrote a while ago that the
Crevices of your jumper
Smell like hope; that
Sometimes I wonder.

Well nowadays I wonder a lot more.

And so here you go, in the hope
That history will repeat itself,
With the faith that I can
Come back to you later,
Understand you as more
Than just a gleam in the rust
With a pair of kind eyes.
Maybe.

Leave a Reply

