Fine

I make a bargain with the sun

My fear for kisses,

An abundance

Of freckles

 

And I listen to the drum beat and

The slap of broken soles

On pavement

 

And I’m going to be

fine.

 

As soon as possible,

The broken sole

Gets discarded

For a pair of ruby

Slippers.

 

Mountain climbing is not advised

There is

A one hundred percent chance

You will lose your footing.

 

Statistics mean nothing.

I’m going to be fine.

 

Hatred comes in multiple shades,

But they are faded, jaded, flecked

With pathetic.

Love comes in only one, agonising

Oil spill in the Atlantic,

But I am a ship and my anchor is raised,

There are better things to do

Than meet people’s eyes,

Unless for a fleeting moment,

Unless to leave them with an afterthought;

 

I am going to be

Just fine.

Leave a Reply

