Goodbye

I know that this is final
Because I haven’t yet
Torn down the pictures,
And the poems I wrote to you
Still stare back at me in solemn silence,
Perhaps they miss the parts of you
That I let them see.

I know that this is final also
Because you are not one
For goodbyes or apologies
And you are never in the wrong
Unless it’s been a few months
And you’ve forgotten that
I can make you laugh sometimes.

I didn’t want this.
I wanted tears on a station platform,
I wanted a symphony of the memories
That only we share to taint the air,
I wanted at least another year.
I wanted at least the rest
Of my life.

I just want you to know
That if those are the last words
We ever say to each other;
I want you to be happy.
But I want you to always wonder.
I’d like to think you’d wish me the same.

Leave a Reply

